Please disseminate to all law enforcement officers – Police Week

Distribution: Please distribute to all law enforcement personnel

First, I want to say thank you to everyone who has made it possible for me to distribute this message.

It’s been a rough year so far for law enforcement officers. On a national level, we’ve seen 3 multiple fatalities in the first four months. Law enforcement deaths are up 24%. Now we are coming into a season or remembering our brothers in blue. May 11-15 this year is Police Week, designated by President Kennedy in “recognition of the service given by the men and women who, night and day, stand guard in our midst to protect us through enforcement of our laws”.

Some of us are taking time to remember those in our department that were killed in the Line of Duty. Being a resident of Huber Heights, Leo Castro, Jr. comes to my mind. Officer Castro was killed while pursuing a criminal while off-duty. Having laid down his life for his city, he will be forever remembered as a hero. And that story will be told hundreds of times in different ways for different officers in the coming weeks. In counties, cities and townships all over the United States, we will take time to honor our heroes. And in doing so, we ensure that they are never forgotten.

On a personal level, I am so thankful for each one of you. I am so appreciative that you are out there putting it on the line for me and my family. Even though I may never personally meet the majority of you, don’t think for a moment that you’re unappreciated. You are in my thoughts and prayers. Thank you guys so much. I think a fitting line from literature that describes this would be, “All these were honored in their generations, and were the glory of their times.”

I’ve said it before and will say it again, you all are heroes. I don’t know how often you hear it, but I’m certain it’s not nearly enough.

Leave a Reply

