Please distribute to all Police, Paramedic and Fire personnel – September 11th

I am honored to have the ability to speak with all of you again. As I write this, it’s in a few short days we will take time to honor the dead of one of the worst attacks in our nation’s history. No one imagined what our country would experience and feel that morning when we awoke on September 11, 2001.

But, as in The Tale of Two Cities, “It was the best of times; it was the worst of times”. In the middle of all the pain and darkness that surrounded us, the American people responded and displayed that we are united. Lines to give blood, people volunteering to work around the clock in hopes we could pull one more person out of the rubble.

And the outpouring of appreciation to our police and fire fighters was something I had never seen in my lifetime. Citizens were saluting the NYPD as they drove by, and cheering at the fire fighters as they went on their next run. America was grateful that someone was there to stand between them and the death and destruction.

And most still are. Really. I’ve heard from some of you. I’ve read the emails from places like Kettering, Dayton, Colerain Township and Columbus who are happy that someone appreciates what they do. I’ve had the privilege of meeting some of you and hearing your stories. I’ve got to ride along with some of you. You are truly an amazing group of people. Anyone that would run into a burning building when others run away is amazing. Those who patrol my streets while I sleep and say “Not on my watch” are amazing. Anyone who sits in a fire station or in a patrol car away from their families on holidays is amazing. Those who carry the beeper knowing they could get a call in the middle of Christmas dinner are amazing.

Ralph Waldo Emerson said this: “The characteristic of heroism is its persistency. All men have wandering impulses, fits, and starts of generosity. But when you have chosen your part, abide by it, and do not weakly try to reconcile yourself with the world.” You do your job, and you do it everyday. That’s one of the things that make you a hero. Thank you. I’m praying for your safety and behind you all the way.

I’ve said it in every email. I’ve said it to the chiefs and administrators when I contact them. You all are heroes. I don’t know how often you hear it, but I’m certain it’s not nearly enough.

Dr. Mike Crain I, D.Min.

ucraimx AT yahoo.com
http://livingwarfare.blogspot.com/2009/05/faq-who-are-you-and-what-are-you-doing.html
http://www.linkedin.com/in/mikeacrain
http://www.policelink.com/member/DoctorMike
http://www.firelink.com/member/DoctorMike

Leave a Reply

