Please distribute to all Police, Paramedic and Fire personnel – Happy Thanksgiving

Happy Thanksgiving! It was this time last year that I sent out my first email. So if this is your first email from me, welcome. If you have received my emails before, thank you for allowing me the opportunity to communicate with you again.

Gratitude. Gratefulness. That’s what this season is all about. Next week Thanksgiving is upon us. How fast the year has gone by! I’d like to take this moment and encourage us to take account of the things in our lives we have to be thankful for.

1. Family
Sometimes we focus on the challenges that daily life can bring in our families. But this season, let’s focus on the happiness that they bring. Savor the moment.

2. Friends
Few things are as irreplaceable as a good friend. Someone you can talk to and bounce things off of. People who know us and still choose to be our friends.

3. Co-Workers
The thing I’ve noticed most about officers, fire fighters, and EMS alike, is the way you guys stand by each other. I’ve noticed the camaraderie. One of the best traits around.

Earlier this year I expressed concerns about deaths in the line of duty. Thankfully, those numbers are now down compared to last year. We hope and pray that 2010 will continue the trend.

To those of you who will be working this Thanksgiving, I say a big thank you! And some of you may have switched to work Thanksgiving to allow the new husband or wife to spend time with their spouse, or the new parent to spend time with their child. Thank you. Your good deeds do not go unnoticed.

Some of you may be missing a family member or friend this Thanksgiving. I’ve met some of you. It may be hard to sit at the table with that empty chair, or not be able to pick up the phone to call a buddy, or see that empty desk at the office. It’s OK to take time to remember and be thankful that they were part of your life.

Before I end this email, I’d like to encourage you. Be thankful! Life is something to be enjoyed and appreciated. And if you have a rough time, your departments may have Employee Assistance Care, Chaplains, Chiefs, any other Supervisor, clergy and/or even friends for guidance and assistance should you need it. I’ll make myself available to help you in any way that I can.

You all are heroes. I don’t know how often you hear it, but I’m certain it’s not nearly enough.

Leave a Reply

