Please distribute to all Police, Paramedic and Fire personnel – Merry Christmas

Hello and thank you for allowing me the opportunity to communicate with you again.

I want to wish each of you and your families a Merry Christmas and Happy Holiday Season. It’s hard to believe that 2009 is almost over. But as we go into the holidays, it’s easy to get caught up in the “hustle and bustle” of the season and forget the things that are important. So I want to take the time and acknowledge those of you in our communities who give of yourselves to keep us safe this season. Most of you will be spending time away from your families during the holidays to keep us safe and secure this season. So I want to say a big THANK YOU. Your sacrifices do not go unnoticed.

It’s my hope and prayer that each of you have a great holidays and a safe and happy 2010. I also hope and pray that the violence tword you stops and you feel the support and gratitude of your communities. Although there are real dangers and evil to face in the next year there is good out there. Although it may be silent at times, it is out there, and it looks to you for help, and lends you support that it can.

Like I mentioned last year, the holidays can be a time of joy and happiness. But it can also be a time of sadness, frustration anxiety, or depression. If you find yourself struggling in during the holidays, don’t hesitate to reach out talk to people. Your departments may have Employee Assistance Care, Chaplains, Chiefs, any other Supervisor, clergy and/or even friends for guidance and assistance should you need it. And you can feel free to contact me.

I also want to say thanks to all of you that I have had the privilege to spend time with in 2009. From the officers from various agencies that I got to ride with this year, to the men and women of the Huber Heights Police Division and the Citizens Police Academy, to those of you I have met in hospitals or on street corners, or through email or Facebook. All of you have shared part of your life with me and I’ll be forever grateful.

I’ve said it before and will say it again, you all are heroes. I don’t know how often you hear it, but I’m certain it’s not nearly enough.

Leave a Reply

