Please distribute to all Police, Paramedic and Fire personnel – Merry Christmas

First, I again want to say thank you to all the Chiefs, Sheriffs, Officers and Administrators who have made it possible for me to distribute this message.

I wish you and your families a Merry Christmas and Happy Holiday season. Some of you may be working during the holidays, or even on Christmas day. I want you to know we appreciate the sacrifices you and your family are making while ensuring our safety and security. It does not go unnoticed or unappreciated.

Some of you may see a darker side to this holiday than the rest of us will see. Called to separate fights, deal with shoplifters, provide attention to someone injured, or worse. Domestics and related injuries are up during the holidays. So it’s my hope that you get to spend time with families and friends and see the true meaning of the holiday season. I hope and pray that the dark side of the holidays will not keep you from seeing and experiencing the great times that come with the holidays.

In a time of giving of gifts, I would like to pose a question for each of you. We all think about giving gifts, but do we take time to think about being gifts? What do you do with the gift you ARE? You are a gift to someone. Families, friends, co-workers, or members of the communities. What gift can you provide? Just being there for someone to talk to? Giving the new trainee some extra words of wisdom for the holidays? Being a source of encouragement for those around you?

And, as I’ve noted before, the holidays can be a time of sadness, frustration or depression. It can be hard to balance out what you have to deal with and still know that there are great people in society as well. If you find yourself struggling in this holiday season, don’t hesitate to reach out for assistance. Your departments may have Employee Assistance Care, Chaplains, Chiefs, any other Supervisor, clergy and/or even friends for guidance and assistance should you need it. I’ll make myself available to help you in any way that I can. Call us, grab us after roll call, send an email. Reach out if you need to.

Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays. I’ve said it before and will say it again, you all are heroes. I don’t know how often you hear it, but I’m certain it’s not nearly enough.

Leave a Reply

