Somtimes you just don’t know.

Answers. We all want answers. Everyone in my life wants answers. New loan officers learning our system want answers. My wife wants to know why the email looks different after I reloaded Windows. Michael wants to know why he has to do homework. The kids at Church want to know why they should listen. My dog wants to know why I won’t let her in the bedroom at night. And my cat, well she’s too lazy to have questions.

But those are easy questions with easy answers. I like that. Easy answers don’t leave me struggling to find balance. But the last few weeks, there are questions that don’t have easy answers. First there were the tornadoes. We know all the scientific facts, but the questions that are asked in the aftermath, there aren’t easy, un-complicated answers.

Then tonight, at the viewing of a fiend, there are more questions. I have a friend who is just a super person, but has really bad things going on in her life right now. I have other friends whose bodies aren’t working the way they should. And the world has lost a great person, leaving a wife and 2 children to grasp what life will be like without dad in their lives. I attempted to tell a small boy (who should not have to understand) how he can miss his dad, grieve and be strong all at the same time.

Then, I have my own questions, very few of which I go into in a public setting. Then I’m left to grapple with the pain of the people that I love and serve, the police and firefighters.

I need some answers. They need some answers. Who has those answers?

We have a story in the Bible about serious questions in John 11.

1Now it came to pass, when Jesus finished commanding His twelve disciples, that He departed from there to teach and to preach in their cities. 2 And when John had heard in prison about the works of Christ, he sent two of his disciples 3 and said to Him, “Are You the Coming One, or do we look for another?” 4 Jesus answered and said to them, “Go and tell John the things which you hear and see: 5 The blind see and the lame walk; the lepers are cleansed and the deaf hear; the dead are raised up and the poor have the gospel preached to them. 6 And blessed is he who is not offended because of Me.”

John has questions about Jesus. Jesus had answers, and the answers he had was good enough for John. John was eventually beheaded in prison, and those answers sustained his faith in who Jesus said he was. If it’s good enough for John, it’s good enough for me. And it’s good enough for you.

So to my friends, I know how real your pain is. I know that sometimes it’s hard to go into another day. But in Jesus I’ve found that while I may not have all the answers, He does. And He will bring you through if you trust in Him. It may not be easy, but He will help.

Leave a Reply

