Police Officer Michael Crain, Riverside (CA) PD

Just sitting here putting down some thoughts. First, to the family of Police Officer Michael Crain, my heart goes out to you. TO the members of the Riverside PD, my heart goes out to you also.

One of the things that I do is I contact police and fire departments that have a line of duty death to express my condolences. Will that be counter-productive if they get an email about Michael Crain from a Michael Crain in another state?

I think about the similarities.
Same first and last names. He was 34, I’m 36.
He was an officer for the Riverside Police Department (in California). I’m a Chaplain that the Riverside Police Department (in Ohio) has called on a few times.
He had a wife and family, as do I.

Maybe I’m just looking to deep…

Also, on a deeper level, was thinking a little about life and death today. Don’t get me wrong, I’ve prepared myself to make my walk into eternity, but I wouldn’t say I’m ready. I’m confident that Heaven is my home (which you would expect to hear from a minister, right?), but I’m not in a hurry to get there. While there still is a tired or unappreciated officer or firefighter or EMT near me, I want to keep on trying to reach them. And I’m sure my family is not in a hurry for that day to come either.

It makes me think about the job I do. I’m a Police Chaplain. I help out when called anywhere where I’m needed. I’ve been to DV (domestic violence) calls standing there with the officer. Sometimes it’s a little intimidating, and sometimes after you get off your shift, back to post, or back home, you think about all the things that could have went wrong. So what you do in those times is what makes you love your job. Unlike officers, I didn’t have an academy train me about vigilance. I’ve learned that from all the officers I’ve been with. I’ve been with great officers and have picked up a lot along the way. I’ve learned to sit facing the door. I’ve learned to always know where at least two exits are. I’ve learned to watch people’s hands. I’ve learned radio protocol. I’ve learned to know where I am at all times. I’ve learned that, while nothing gets adrenaline moving like running “code” over 100 MPH, that people swerve in front of you to slow you down.

Do I regret any of it? No Way! I’d do it every day if I were paid for it. I LOVE this! There are so many things that could go wrong, but there are so many things that go right each time I’m in a car. I love being able to help people. I love having officers know that I’ll be THERE when they need me. I love meeting and greeting cops and firefighters wherever I go. I went back to Kentucky over Christmas, and made some rounds visiting with police officers and firefighters there.

So, rest in peace Police Officer Michael Crain from Riverside, CA. Chaplain Michael Crain in Huber Heights, OH is thinking about your family tonight.

Leave a Reply

