Weighing in on the “Duck Dynasty” controversy

OK…I’m weighing in. There are some things that I do not post on Facebook (or anywhere else in public view) that I truly believe. And there are some things posted to my wall that I remove. I do this, not because I question who I am, but the respect I have for my position. Let me explain.

While I do not speak for any organization directly, there are some people who see me as “the Chaplain from Huber Heights”. So, even though I do not speak for the city, or it’s Police Department, I do not tend to be controversial. As a matter of principle, I try to avoid it.

I truly believe in Freedom of Speech. I truly believe in (to use common terms) my religious principles. My relationship with God isn’t negotiable. It’s not up for debate. My good friends likely know where I stand on any issue. I have stood for the Constitution and pledged my life to it’s defense before, and will if I ever need to again. So if you want to say anything, it’s a free country. Me and millions of others have worked to keep it that way.

My goal on Facebook and on my blog is not to trumpet who I am and what I believe. If you do , that’s OK. Freedom of Speech is working as it is designed. My goal on Facebook is to keep in touch with family, and keep my supporters updated on my “ministry”:to show support for First Responders and Public Safety forces, honor our fallen, and encourage those who remain. Will I post some things along the way that folks may disagree with, or even may find offensive? Probably.

Here is the only opinion I will offer publicly: This is not a “Freedom of Speech” issue (as I see it). The constitution says “Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances”. The government is not restricting Phil Robertson’s speech, it’s A&E, in a sense one of his “employers”. Just like I can go to work and tell my boss that “You’re doing a bad job” or “I hate the way you….”. I can do that. It’s a free country. And my employer has the right to show me the door. My speech is protected, but I am not protected from the outcomes of my speech. If you want to claim it’s media double-standard you can. You can claim it’s people harassing country folks. You can claim it’s a bias against Christianity. Is it true? Maybe. But that’s for better minds than mine to decide. But the way I see it, it’s not a problem with “Freedom of Speech”.

I owe it to the Huber Heights Police Division and the Butler Township Police Department to not do anything (in word or deed) that would cast a negative light on them. And as a friend pointed out, in the last four days we have lost 3 good officers and 2 firefighters: heroes. I owe it to them to make sure they are not forgotten. I owe it to those who remain to be ready to help them if they need it.

Leave a Reply

