Please distribute to all Police, Paramedic, Fire and Dispatch personnel – Merry Christmas 2015

First, I again want to say thank you to all the Chiefs, Sheriffs, Officers, Administrators, and fellow Chaplains who have made it possible for me to distribute this message.

I wish you and your families a Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays. For those of you in stations or cars working during the holidays, we appreciate the sacrifices you and your family are making while ensuring our safety and security. It does not go unappreciated or unnoticed.

The sights and sounds of the holidays, can be like a breath of fresh air to people. Good tidings, carols, and a season of giving. But to some, it can be difficult this time of year, and one of the reasons is regrets. Regret is a powerful emotion, and can ruin our lives if we allow it. So in this note, I’m going to give us a few pointers on dealing with regrets.

  1. Some of you may be thinking “Why regrets? It’s the Holidays. Why not pick a much lighter topic?” There are people who have tough times, and it may be someone you know, or it could be you. It’s important for people to know they are not alone.
  2. We all have regrets. Some are big and some are small. We regret not saying how we felt to that person the last time we saw them, or we regret that we didn’t lose that extra 5 pounds this year. Some are painful, and some are just tedious things that adds to tomorrows “to do list”. Playwright Arthur Miller once said “Maybe all one can do is hope to end up with the right regrets.”
  3. Regrets can make us better people...if we allow it. Regrets can make us more open to talk to people. They can inspire us to go to the gym more often. They can encourage us to look for more ways to make a difference. Regrets can make us want to go back to school, or to take that additional training.
  4. Regrets can be positive or negative…we choose the outcome. Regret can propel you forward, or hold you back. Sometimes we just need assistance in understanding their significance or our next course of action.
  5. Others may have the key that unlocks our regrets. I know when I have experienced regrets, and I have talked it over with others, they were able to see actions that I could take, even when I could not.

 

2016 is just around the corner. What changes do you want to make? Can your life be happier? I believe it can. Can the regrets of yesterday be the encouragement of tomorrow? I absolutely believe they can. If you need assistance, REACH OUT! If you need assistance and don’t know who to talk to, just drop me a note.

During the holidays, I always put in this information, because I know that someone may need it. The holidays are meant to be times of joy, happiness, time with those we love and hope. While it can produce stress for even the best of us, for some of you can be a time of sadness, frustration or depression. It can be hard to balance out what you have to deal with and still know that there are great people in society as well. I also know that it’s hard for us to reach out sometimes (and I’m no exception to this rule). If you find yourself struggling in this holiday season, don’t hesitate to reach out for assistance. Your departments may have Employee Assistance Care, Chaplains, Chiefs, and any other Supervisor available for help. There is also other Clergy and/or even friends for guidance and assistance should you need it. My phone is always on and I’ll make myself available to help you in any way that I can. Call us, grab us after roll call, send an email. Reach out if you need to.

 

Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays, and best wishes for 2016. I’ve said it before and will say it again, you all are heroes. I don’t know how often you hear it, but I’m certain it’s not nearly enough.

One thought on “Please distribute to all Police, Paramedic, Fire and Dispatch personnel – Merry Christmas 2015

Leave a Reply

